web stats

Banquet Select Recipe Meals – Quick & Inexpensive

by Briana on October 9, 2008 · 45 comments


We had the opportunity to try Banquet Select recipes this week. Select is the new line from Banquet which boosts “So Good for So Little.” We tried the Home-Style Pot Roast and the Classic Fried Chicken.

The Classic Fried Chicken included two servings of vegetables as well as the Home Style Pot Roast. The Dinners were well portioned and filled us up. My older daughter ate the Classic Fried Chicken meal and let me have a taste and she thought the chicken was better than restaurant chicken but said the corn needed salt!

While both were delicious, I noticed that the Classic Fried Chicken had over 620 calories. So I wouldn’t recommend this one if you are watching calories. Home Style Pot Roast was around 190 calories which was much better calorie wise!

Banquet Select Recipes are priced around $1.50 and if you have a coupon, you can get an even better deal!

They are available in seven varieties:

  • Chicken Parmesan
  • Classic Fried Chicken
  • Enchilada Combo Meal
  • Herb Grilled Chicken Breast
  • Home-Style Pot Roast
  • Slow Cooked Beef
  • Smothered Burrito

This is why I like these meals:

  • Balanced, quality meal with LOTS of protein (makes you less hungry!)
  • Perfectly sized portions for your family so you will not have any wasted food. (I hate when I have to throw out food!!!)
  • You will eat out less if you have quick and easy meals on hand to feed your family. Thus, saving your family money.

Select Recipes are now available in supermarkets nationwide.

While, I wouldn’t recommend frozen dinners every meal, these are a filling, inexpensive meal for the times when you don’t have time to cook a home cooked meal! Busy families know this happens often! You can feed a family of 6 for under $10 – which we can’t do even at a Fast Food restaurant. If you buy them on sale and with a coupon, it could be much less!

One more thing, just for fun, my daughter did a video review of her meal. (Basically it is just her eating her food and answering my questions. She wanted to be “famous” and be on my blog.)

One more thing (this one is kind of important!), check out my AWESOME giveaway HERE. Ends 10/31 with 4 winners!!! 2 Grand Prize winners will win Free Banquet Selects Coupons & a Signed Lee Ann Womack Picture!
Be Sociable, Share!
1 sassy2 October 10, 2008 at 8:34 am

Funny, I just watched a commercial for these! Maybe it is a sign? Please sign me up. (OH, and the daughter was great!)

2 janetfaye October 10, 2008 at 9:17 am

I always like to try something new.

janetfaye (at) gmail (dot) com

3 Anonymous October 10, 2008 at 9:42 am

I would like to try the Enchilada Combo! This looks fast, tasty, and convenient!

bj_texan@yahoo.com

4 fae October 10, 2008 at 10:09 am

nice review! i really want to try these now!

5 Kathie R. October 10, 2008 at 10:09 am

I just saw these in the stores this week. they sure do look tasty. would love to try them.

tndrkiss4u (at) hotmail (dot) com

6 Budgets are Sexy October 10, 2008 at 10:57 am

your daughter is sooo freakin’ cute! and you know what? she is now famous ;)

i hope to have famous daughters one day.

7 Anonymous October 10, 2008 at 11:14 am

Life’s good …. but giveaways make it even better
Classic Fried Chicken
always sounds good

slorek@yahoo.com

8 gunzie October 10, 2008 at 11:42 am

I would love to try the herb grilled chicken breast. I loved the clip with your daughter. Thanks for the great giveaway!

ann dot guns at mac dot com

9 gunzie October 10, 2008 at 11:43 am

I’m a subscriber.

ann dot guns at mac dot com

10 Jacqueline Parks October 10, 2008 at 1:52 pm

I usually avoid frozen dinners, but my kids consider them a real treat. These sound better than some others so I think I’ll give them a try!

11 Mommyhood is Thankless October 10, 2008 at 3:31 pm

You know I have been curious about these, I have seen them next to the Orig Banquet meals and wondered if they were good.

mommyhoodisthankless{AT}gmail.com

12 Jill October 10, 2008 at 3:48 pm

Chicken Parmesan looks yummy! thanks!

13 blueviolet October 10, 2008 at 4:51 pm

I would like to try the pot roast and my son wants to try the fried chicken. He likes the protein boost in the meals since he lifts weights. I like the flavor and low calories of the pot roast. Thanks for the giveaway.
doot65{at}comcast[dot]net
Elizabeth

14 Shayna October 10, 2008 at 6:17 pm

Love to try one!
shaynamarie22@hotmail.com

15 jceko77 October 10, 2008 at 7:17 pm

I would like to have these on hand for my parents babysit
jceko77@yahoo.com

16 clynsg October 11, 2008 at 7:25 am

We have used Banquet for lunches at work for some time and this would add to the variety. Nice to know I picked the best for calories (Pot Roast) BEFORE reading your review!

clynsg at yahoo.com

17 Nancy October 11, 2008 at 10:43 am

I want to try the Pot Roast (what a treat for the calories!) and the Enchilada Combo Meal. Both sound delicious and oh so easy! Thanks for the chance to win!

Nancy
allibrary [at] aol [dot] com

18 Nancy October 11, 2008 at 10:45 am

I’m a subscriber also!

Nancy
allibrary [at] aol [dot] com

19 Deborah October 11, 2008 at 11:26 am

I’d like to try the Home-Style Pot Roast – I like that the calories are low. asthenight at gmail dot com

20 Danielle October 11, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Chicken Parm sounds yummy, but I would probably stick to the lower calorie Pot Roast.

ldsmom2201 at yahoo dot com
http://juanshappywife.blogspot.com
http://homeschoolunitstudies.blogspot.com

21 Kerrie October 11, 2008 at 5:41 pm

Haha, the video review was funny! If it was me though, I’d be like “Mom, stop asking me questions, I’m busy eating here!”

22 Angie October 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

Hey, Your daughter did a great job!

The Classic Fried Chicken is worth trying again, as I havn’t for quite a while and I am hungry for it!

Thanks,
baileybobby6@hotmail(dot)com

23 Meredith October 11, 2008 at 7:01 pm

Lots of great choices and a name I associate with the first fozen dinners of my childhood as quality!

24 The Lady Riposter October 12, 2008 at 9:50 am

I would love to try the pot roast dinner. I love pot roast but never manage to make it myself. Thanks for the opportunity!

25 Pat Connors October 13, 2008 at 4:42 am

I would like to try the herb grilled chicken. I am hungry now!

risanjax@Metrocast.net

26 Deanne02 October 13, 2008 at 7:16 am

The enchilada combo meal is one I’d love to try. A couple days a week I love to make quick dinners so I have more time to spend doing something fun with the kids.

27 Andrea V October 14, 2008 at 12:52 pm

I’d love to try one. I take frozen meals to work sometimes since it’s cheaper then our cafeteria.
vickers at comcast dot net

28 Nanci October 15, 2008 at 11:54 am

This sound really great. I love to try them.

29 Christina October 16, 2008 at 5:40 am

Great review Briana! I’ll have to give these a try! Thanks!

30 Mommy loves to shop October 16, 2008 at 8:46 am

Your daughter is so cute. Loved the review. Please sign me up!
sbombria{at}gmail{dot}com

31 Tamara October 16, 2008 at 8:51 am

Chicken Parmesan is the best. Great review, thank-you.
tamben7996(at)aol(dot)com

32 sunnymum October 18, 2008 at 10:42 am

Love the price! Fast food is way too expensive, but sometimes we moms need to have food ready fast!

33 MonCherie October 19, 2008 at 9:23 am

Great review! I am just wondering about the sodium content. We love to try new things…would love to win!

34 MoonMaiden October 27, 2008 at 1:12 pm

Thanks for letting us know these are worth trying :) They sound delicious!

ols[dot]moonmaiden[at]gmail[dot]com

35 Anonymous October 29, 2008 at 12:04 pm

Thank you for the opportunity to win this giveaway!! :)

I’d like to try the Enchilada Combo Meal.

scraphappy71@sbcglobal.net

P.S. Can some one tell me why some people have typed their email address using the words AT and DOT, instead of using the symbols. Sorry if this is a silly question.

36 Anonymous October 29, 2008 at 12:13 pm

Okay, I just found out the answer to my own question . . .

here’s a link to the explanation . .
http://labnol.blogspot.com/2006/03/hide-your-email-address-on-websites.html

This must be why I’ve been getting crazy emails from people soliciting crazy stuff!

37 Lori October 29, 2008 at 4:15 pm

makes me hungry! :)

38 kaylee8 October 30, 2008 at 11:30 am

The Slow Cooked Beef sounds yummy and I love how easy to prepare and nutricious these are!

39 SeahorseLady October 31, 2008 at 1:54 pm

I would like to try the Chicken Parmesan dinner. I used to eat Banquet meals many years ago and it looks like I should start eating them again. The new meals look great.

40 lilyk October 31, 2008 at 11:52 pm

The Banquet’s Select Meals look very interesting!

41 amtsales December 21, 2008 at 5:37 pm

Would love to try these.

lqw_shopper (at) hotmail (dot) com

42 MaryAnne December 22, 2008 at 4:34 am

good and cheap..gotta love them

mariannakeough at hotmail.com

43 The Lady Riposter December 22, 2008 at 8:16 am

I would love to try these. Thank you for the contest!

44 Kerrie December 22, 2008 at 11:31 pm

She’s cute! I’ve been wanting to try these for a while – they sound awesome! =)

45 Steph December 30, 2008 at 8:23 am

i’D LOVE TO TRY THESE !
smiley_2516@yahoo.com

Comments on this entry are closed.


Previous post:

Next post:

Google Analytics Alternative